• Come and join our girl community by registering for free and start discussing about girl topics, fashion, relationships...

Can't get a job to save my life!

jenb128

I lost my job of thirteen years last September when my place of employment closed down. Since then, I've been searching for something new. I lost track of how many resumes I've sent out, but it has to be around 100. I've been on ten interviews, but I never get the job. I follow all the interview "rules" - I sit up straight. I smile. I watch my "ums and uhs." I practice ahead of time. I usually send thank you notes (I forgot the first couple times because I hadn't been on a job interview in so long), but the only thing that does is get me the "while your background and skills are impressive, we're going with another candidate" letter faster.

I'm 100% qualified for all these positions. I have almost twenty years of relevant experience. I'm not asking for too much money (a couple of the interviews have even been for minimum wage jobs). Still, nobody seems to want me, even with multiple professional recommendations. It's frustrating and terrifying. Fortunately, my husband has a decent job, but if I don't find something (at least part-time) by the end of the year, we're going to be in trouble.

I have gone back to school part-time in the hopes of eventually getting into the veterinary technology program, but it'll be at least a few years before I can get a job in that field.

Werbung:
Finding a job right now can be really tough. I was in that position a few years ago. The worst part is how discouraged I will get after going on so many interviews and not getting hired. It really affected me and wore me down. I tried my best to keep my head up and eventually I did get a job. I know everyone keeps telling you it will eventually happen and it doesn't seem like it, but it really will!